That Old Trick (Kings 2 6-7)

I knew before attempting to read the Bible from cover to cover (which typically, I only do with John Grisham novels) that “turn the other cheek” was decidedly New Testament. What I didn’t realize was that “let’s wish blindness upon our enemies” was decidedly Old Testament. Rough.

The Syrians are fighting again with the Israelites so Elisha, a person who is constantly and annoyingly referred to as a “man of God,” prays to God, “Strike these people, I pray thee, with blindness” (Kin 2 6:18). And he does. God makes these people blind. So the Israelites win that one… obviously.

But the Syrians rebound quickly (with new, sighted recuits, I imagine) and take Samaria seige, where there’s a famine. In the midst of this seige-slash-famine, a woman calls out to the king of Israel (who is it at this point? I’ve lost track). She’s got a major beef with another gal. It’s a pretty big one, admittedly. Here’s what she says: “This woman said to me, ‘Give your son, that we may eat him today, and we will eat my son tomorrow.’ So we boiled my son, and ate him. And on the next day I said to her, ‘Give your son, that we may eat him’; but she has hidden her son” (Kin 2 6:28-29). Duh. That’s the oldest trick in the book. Could’ve seen that one coming. She should have asked to boil both sons at once and then dry and salt any leftovers for later. I can’t blame her for not thinking straight, however. Hunger is incredibly distracting. I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before but my personal hell would be having Prader-Willi syndrome whereby your body loses its capacity to recognize signals of satiety. I already feel like I operate like this on a low level most of the day anyways but I literally can’t imagine being positively ravenous all the time. In all seriousness, I would probably kill myself. Back in my vegan days, when this was more of an issue for me, I used to try and bloat myself on multiple cans of Diet Coke a day. Now I employ other methods to distract myself from hunger like… blogging.

Published in: on July 22, 2011 at 2:47 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://atheistbiblestudy.wordpress.com/2011/07/22/that-old-trick-kings-2-6-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

