A Meddle of Honour (Chronicles 27-29)

Whenever I think of the iconic “Dad,” I think of a man sitting, waiting patiently in an armchair, one leg crossed over the other, reading the paper with glasses perched on the end of his nose. I also think of a man giving unsolicited, semi-patronizing advice.

King David is just this kind of Dad. He’s supposed to build a house for the ark of the covenant but he can’t because, as a warrior, he’s got blood on his hands. God wants his son Solomon to take over the task. Rather than let Solomon do his own thing, David insists on giving him blueprints for the house and supplying all the materials. He gives him specifications for everything right down to the lampstands. Solomon doesn’t get to add any of his own flair at all. He probably had some cool ideas, like a billiards room or a chocolate fountain.

More obnoxious than that, when the house is finally built, David insists on blessing the house AND blessing God. I didn’t know that this could be done. What good is it to bless God? He’s God. He can look after himself.

This behaviour reminds me of my own Dad who says grace at every Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner even though my Mum (and to a lesser extent, me) has worked all day to prepare everything. Don’t get me wrong – my Dad is a great guy – but the way he puts on airs to say grace makes me want to throw the turkey at him. Maybe it’s a generational thing. All the older men in my family are like that. They mow the lawns and that’s it. I once asked my Dad to help me make a salad and he looked at me as if I was speaking Cantonese. Here’s how that conversaton went:

Me: “Since it’s Mother’s Day, how ’bout I do some fish and you make a salad?”

My Dad: “… oh, well… I think it’d be better if you made the salad, love.”

Me: “Why?”

My Dad: “… oh, well… you’re so much better at it.”

Me: “It’s a salad. Just wash a bunch of lettuce and vegetables and put them in a big bowl.”

[blank stare]

Me: “YOU DON’T KNOW HOW TO MAKE A SALAD, DO YOU???!!!”

My Dad: “Frankly, I wouldn’t know where to begin.”

Me: “Just go watch the soccer.”

Knows how to make a friggin' salad.

Published in: on September 9, 2011 at 2:38 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://atheistbiblestudy.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/a-meddle-of-honour-chronicles-27-29/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

