You’re Better Than That (Psalms 7-14)

“There is no God” (Psalms 10:4).

Well, that settles things. Thanks for reading, folks!

It’s actually in the Bible. I’ve taken it out of context, of course, and hilariously so. But it’s in there.

I’m still waiting with baited breath for the Psalms to spice up. Unfortunately, they seem to consist of bellyaching about enemies and begging God to hurt them. The Psalms get alarmingly specific about the kind of bodily harm, too. Here are some examples:

“Break thou the arm of the wicked and evildoer” (Psalms 10:14)

“On the wicked he [God] will rain coals of fire and brimstone/a scorching wind shall be the portion of their cup” (Psalms 11:6)

“May the Lord cut off all flattering lips/the tongue that makes great boasts” (Psalms 12:3)

That’s mean.

I don’t know for sure who wrote this stuff but to him I say, “C’mon. You’re better than that”. Personally, I get most of my aggression out by working a mortar and pestle to make my own Thai curry pastes. And sometimes, if I see someone’s about to pull the cord on the streetcar for an upcoming stop, I try to beat them to it. That’s just me though.

Psalms would appeal to whoever wrote this.

Psalms would appeal to whoever wrote this.

 

Published in: on May 21, 2013 at 1:52 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://atheistbiblestudy.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/youre-better-than-that-psalms-7-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

